DXF code to gcode

Jan 5 at 9:31 AM
Hi there,

I am new to dxf files and would like to understand how a dxf file is understood. I was wondering whether this library could be used to convert a model in dxf to g code for a cnc cutting machine. The g code will be later converted to coordinates needed by the motor controllers to actually cut a material. Any help in that direction will be helpful. For now, I am able to run the test file and trying to make sense of the results.

Kind regards,
Ataur
Coordinator
Jan 5 at 2:53 PM
netDxf will help you reading dxf files into something more meaningful, you could even load a dxf as a single string, but that is not be very useful, isn't it?. After that is up to you what you do with the content of the DxfDocument, you will have to make the translation into whatever the G code requires.

I am not familiar with G code, but if it is in any way similar to HPGL, a cutting machine is basically a plotter that has a cutting head instead of a pen, in this case a file would be generated that the plotter will understand, but this conversion is your responsibility.

Daniel
Jan 6 at 8:25 AM
Hi Daniel,

Thanks for your reply. Though there are many application out there doing the conversion from dxf to g codes for cnc machines, I couldn't find any C# library. I will look into it in more details and see what I can come up with.

In the mean time, I can use this library to find the coordinates and send them directly to the controller. The g code conversion was an optional thing I needed later for 3D printing applications.

Thanks for this library though :)

Kind regards,
Ataur
Jan 27 at 2:25 PM
Hi,

I was busy using your library for while. I went through the documentation about the ability to identify shapes such as rectangle or triangle from a combination of lines or polylines. I believe there is no such functionality yet to group entities to certain shapes. I wanted to know if I was missing something.

Kind regards,
Ataur
Coordinator