This project has moved and is read-only. For the latest updates, please go here.

SharpDevelop

Feb 16 at 4:59 PM
Hello,
I'm new to coding. Can netdxf be compiled in SharpDevelop instead of Visual Studio? I've opened the solution files in SharpDevelop but get many errors and a failed build. Plainly put, is netdxf exclusive to Visual Studio only?
Feb 17 at 3:15 PM
Edited Feb 17 at 9:50 PM
SharpDevelop should be able to open Visual Studio projects. The main requirement is the .NET Framework 4.5, I have not tried it but as long you use SharpDevelop 4.5 or 5 it should work. What kind of errors are you getting?

Daniel
Mar 8 at 4:32 PM
Hey Daniel,

I'm confused. I downloaded the netDxf 2.0.2 on the homepage, but am not sure how to run the program. I'm using the latest SharpDevelop. Forgive me for such a rookie question, but that's what I am.
Mar 10 at 6:20 PM
netDxf is a software library (dll) not an application, therefore there is no executable that you can "run". You need to add the netDxf dll as a reference to your own project, the same way you add or remove other other net Framework or external libraries that you might use.

Additionally to the download option in the front page, that only includes the library, you can also download the full source code. There you will find a solution that contains two project, one is the actual netDxf source code and other called "TestDxfDocument" that I use to test it. It includes lots of example on how to load and save dxf files, how to create and modify different elements of a dxf, etc.

Daniel
Mar 10 at 6:48 PM
This is what I get when I try to run the .netdxf solution in the latest SharpDevelop: