Let's talk about splines!

Jul 2, 2014 at 3:41 PM
So to the best of my knowledge, Net DXF currently does not have a spline elevator. I am a mathematician and I know a thing or two about splines and I am interested in writing an elevator to enhance my software. I would be happy to share the code!

I scanned the forum for info about splines but only found one answered thread about it.

Do we know what type of splines are used? Are all the parameters and information for the spline being read into the Net DXF spline object?
Coordinator
Jul 3, 2014 at 5:27 PM
I don't really know what you mean by a spline elevator. Bear in mind that, netDxf is only a library to read and write dxf files, so the Spline class is just a container to hold the essential information needed to read and write the dxf Spline entity. It is not intended to be a library for geometric operations, but I always wanted to write a library with them to calculate intersections, distances, interpolations,... I do not know how many times I wrote the code to calculate the intersection between two lines. It would be something similar to the Mathematics library of the WildMagic engine, even a direct translation to C# would be great. If you can read C++ take a look at the code, it is open source and easy to follow; you might even find what you are looking for.

About your questions, the Spline entity represents a nurbs curve, and the library only reads the essential information needed to build the curve. The dxf also includes information about what is called fit points, inside AutoCad there are two methods to create Splines through the classical Nurbs definition with control points, and by points through which the curve passes called fit points. In any case, AutoCad is not a good representation of a good program to work with nurbs, or any other kind of curves besides circunferences.